Who will be nominated best player of the season?

The mega-star of Cleveland, LeBron James, the leader of Houston’s James Harden and the player-feature to Oklahoma City’s Russell Westbrook is no surprise that the three players still in contention for the title of best player of the season (MVP), announced on Friday the League of north american basketball (NBA).

James, who is playing in the finals of the eastern conference with Cleveland, has already been crowned MVP four times (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013), while Harden and Westbrook for their first trophy.

Harden finished in the 2nd place of the ranking of the markers of the regular season (with 29.1 pts per game), behind Westbrook (31,6 points), which has beaten the old record a “triple double” (three categories of statistics to ten units and more) on a season of the legendary Oscar Robertson.

For the title of best coach of the season, are in contention Gregg Popovich (San Antonio), Mike d’antoni (Houston) and Erik Spoelstra (Miami).

Gobert in the running for two trophies

The pivot French Utah’s Rudy Gobert is in the running for two trophies at the end of the season 2016-17, the best defender and the player with the most progress, announced on Friday the League of north american basketball (NBA).

Gobert, selected Thursday in the second-team type of season, is in competition with Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio) and Draymond Green (Golden State) for the prestigious trophy for the best defender in NBA. Leonard, always competing in the finals of Western conference with San Antonio, has won the last two trophies, in 2015 and 2016.

For the trophy for the player with the most progress, Gobert is in competition with the Greek Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee) and the Serbian Nikola Jokic (Denver). The French international has made in 24 years the best regular season of his young career with averages of 14 points, 12,8 rebounds, and 2.6 blocked shots per game. He has led Utah to the playoffs for the first time since 2012: in the 1st round, the Jazz is coming to the end of the Clippers, before being stopped by Golden State (4-0).

These trophies, awarded after consulting a jury of specialist journalists, will be awarded for the first time during a special evening on the 26th of June in New York.

Created: 20.05.2017, 03h07

No comments

Brought to you by:

Your AD Here ! Contact us at

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to AppNews and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Official Fan Page